Federation of National Associations of Women in Business in Eastern and Southern Africa (FEMCOM) is a COMESA institution, established in July 1993 with the endorsement of the Authority made up of Heads of States and Governments of the COMESA member states, under Article 155 of the COMESA Treaty.

FEMCOM has National Chapters in all the 19 COMESA member states namely Burundi, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Djibouti, Egypt, ,Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sudan, Swaziland, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.


FEMCOM develops women entrepreneurship in the COMESA region and beyond through programmes that promote, encourage and serve the needs of women and their businesses, working in smart collaboration with relevant partners.

FEMCOM’s Strategic Priorities:

1. Strengthening FEMCOM for Long-term Sustainability
2. Resource Mobilisation
3. Up-scaling capacity for women in business
4. Increase Trade & Investment Facilitation
5. Enhancing Access to Credit and Capital for Women in Business
6. Forster Influential Policies to Empower Women in Busines


1. Business Incubator for African Women Entrepreneurs (BIAWE) Project
2. COMESA Cluster Development Programme
3. Strengthening Women in Business Associations and Promoting Networks