Federation of National Associations of Women in Business in Eastern and Southern Africa (FEMCOM) is a COMESA Institution, established in July 1993 under Articel 155 of the COMESA Treaty.

FEMCOM has national chapters in all the 19 COMESA region countries namely : Burundi, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea Ethiopia, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sudan, Swaziland, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.


FEMCOM’s primary objective is to promote the activities of Women in business in COMESA and beyond. It plays a facilitative, co-ordinative, and catalytic role working with federations of women entrepreneurs’ National FEMCOM Chapters in the COMESA Member States to create an enabling environment for women in business as well as acting as a forum for the exchange of ideas and experiences.


To develop Women in Business in COMESA and beyond through programmes that promote, encourage and serve the needs of women and their businesses working in smart collaboration with relevant partners at all levels


  1. The Business Incubator for African Women Entrepreneurs (BIAWE) Project
    The BIAWE Project is an initiative that intends to support women entrepreneurs in the COMESA region. Its aim is to establish regional business incubators and provide business incubation services to women entrepreneurs.
  2. Cluster Development Programme
    Today, the SMEs dominate the majority of economies in Africa, including the COMESA region. However, many SMEs face challenges in limited entrepreneurial skills/experiences, lack of access to appropriate technology, lack of access to finance and low level of value addition.
  3. Strengthening Women in Business Associations and Promoting Networks