FEMCOM launches Rwanda chapter
Rwanda team preparing for launch of FEMCOM Rwanda Chapter

Rwanda team preparing for launch of FEMCOM Rwanda Chapter

Lilongwe, Malawi, April 26, 2016: Rwanda will in May 2016 launch its chapter of the National Associations of Women in Business in Eastern and Southern Africa (FEMCOM).
Chief Executive Officer for FEMCOM, Katherine Ichoya, disclosed this in an interview in Lilongwe.
Ichoya said this was agreed and sealed earlier this month at a consultative meeting with sector specific representatives of women in business held in Kigali, Rwanda.
‘’This is an enormous achievement in the empowerment of women in Africa. FEMCOM won’t rest until all women in the COMESA regions are empowered,’’ said a beaming Ichoya.
She said this is part of the African Union’s (AU) agenda 2063 which has the uplifting and changing of women’s lives as one of its key aims.
Monica Grace Ssanyu is assisting to coordinate the activities leading to the launch of the Rwanda Chapter. Some of the countries that have already launched their chapters include Malawi, Zimbabwe, Zambia and Kenya.

Comoros team preparation for the branding

Comoros team preparation for the branding

Ichoya says what this means is that the Rwanda Chapter like other member states that already launched FEMCOM chapters, will now be branded – They will now be officially recognised as part of the COMESA family and benefit from the programmes and facilities provided by COMESA.
‘’There are enormous opportunities that come with this recognition, like market access, technical and financial opportunities from COMESA institutions,’’ said Ichoya.
Ichoya says FEMCOM’s primary objective is to promote the activities of women in business in the COMESA region and beyond.

FEMCOM is a COMESA Institution established in July 1993 under article 155 of the COMESA treaty, in line with decision of the Heads of States and Government made in January 1992.  FEMCOM has memberships in all the 19 COMESA member states, namely: Burundi, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sudan, Swaziland, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Recommend to friends
  • gplus
  • pinterest